Day 2

Greetings once again curious surfers of the information highway. It is day two and this woman who needs gingko biloba to remember to take gingko biloba is still focused on a quest for health. Now I am not a dietician, or hold a diploma related to anything medical. I am simply am overly verbal opinionated person. This journey is born of trial and error. Diet pills, magic shakes, and one fad diet after another since I was five have lead me to one irripressible truth. There is no such thing as instant gratification. Results take work and I have one long strenuous year ahead of me. In my last blog entry I confessed I am morbidly obese at twenty three. Todays confession is I have the focus and will power of a speck of dust in a wind storm. In order to rectify my inability to remember commitment I have come up with a list that will aid me from day to day to achieve my goals.

1. Food Journal- mindlessly shoveling food into the large gaping orifice on my face, doesn’t get the weight results I hoped for. So I installed the My Fitness Pal application on my T-mobile My Touch phone. This gift from above keeps track of my calories and nutritional intake, as well as my exercise. Simplifying everything down to a few minutes every day. No more excuse.

2.Start a Blog- this helps make a mindful effort to track my progress and speak openly about the roller coaster of my journey.

3.Stay Positive- positive affirmations are a great way to keep up momentum. You don’t need to go out and purchase a book. The internet contains stock piles off inspirational affirmations.

4.Read Food Labels- you would be surprised to know how many calories a bagel hides inside its yummy unassuming crust.

5.Say No to the Microwave- most foods that are a quick fix have tones of calories and salt.

6.Say No to Extra Portions- you don’t need it.

7. Limit Beverages with Sugar- I was born and raised in sunny, manic climate confused Florida. Sweet ice tea is part of the culture. I drank sweet tea as much as I could, until I found out each refreshing glass was one hundred ten calories. I could drink three at dinner alone. For those of you out there who live for sodas. They are just as bad, if not worse. I have switched to sugar free tea and water. Also watch out for fruit juices even “healthy” drinks have calories.

8.Make Conscious Choices About What You Put in Your Mouth- okay you can have that one McDonald’s Sausage Egg McMuffin for four hundred fifty calories. Or you can choose two eggs, two strips of bacon, a piece of buttered toast, and a cup of cantalope for three hundred forty five  calories. Which makes a better meal?

9. Attitude- find a reason to be healthy. Focusing on looks isn’t the way to success. I would rather be a reasonable size and healthy. Than trying to kill myself to be a size two.

10.Workout- find a workout that you enjoy. My brother procured the P90X dvds, at which I participated in the practice of archaic torture. Never again, but dancing on the other hand I can’t find a better way to spend my time. Zumba, belly dancing, and bollywood are among the home workout dvds that you can acquire at Amazon.com. All of which I enjoy. Just thirty minutes of belly dancing burns three hundred seventy six calories. Yeah and I know what you are thinking. As long as it gets this fast girl moving I don’t care what I look like.

11. Life Style- look at the changes you make as a life style change not as a diet. When we “diet” it is a temporary mind set. To be healthy we have to change or lives permanently.

12. Daily Routine- I’ll admit I live to nap. There was a time when I wanted sleeping to be a sport. Now I see all cat napping has done is further my weight dilemma. Instead set your alarm a little earlier to prepare for the day or get in a quick workout. Or take your dog for a walk around the neighborhood. Both out you could share in the benefits of physical activity.

13.Set Limits-how much time do you spend a day imitating a vegetable in front of that hypnotic electronic siren, the television? Or worshiping that god of eternal diversions known as a computer? Imagine if you used that time to exercise? Better yet why don’t you move that dusty treadmill so you can  see the television. That way you can get that tookus moving and catch your favorite program all at the same time. Can you say multitasking?

14. Grocery List- if it will be a temptation don’t buy it. I have a colossal sweet tooth. If there is a piece of chocolate in the house I obsess about it until I eat it or eat everything in the house.

15.Surroundings- if you see it you will think about it. Tucking that old treadmill in the garage or basement won’t inspire you into motion. Bring out out into a room you frequent all the time. Make the treadmill you own set of Gieco eyes.

16. Support- get everyone involved. Your family is the first line of support. If your family doesn’t get involved your likelihood of success is greatly diminished. If your family joins in your journey to weight loss you can all keep yourselves motivated. Over Eaters Anonimous is another option. Or recruit a skinny friend. Letting her in on your tribulations, and asking for helpful reminders can also help keep you on the straight and narrow. Help is out there. All you have to do is ask.

17.Spiritual- meditate, pray, wear a charm, or ask others to pay for you. What ever your religion incorporate your spirituality to your goals. Medicine can only do so much then comes God.

18. Mental Health- depression and stress can contribute to weight gain as well as result from it. When I felt the sting of depression I gorged myself for comfort. Which in turned made me even more depressed. A vicious cycle insued making me the maine mammal I am today.

19. Goals- if you feel like a failure you will fail. So instead of impossible goals that are certain to leave you feeling defeated, focus on each day. Did I eat right today, and did I do my workout, should be the focus not the number on the scale. The results will materialize as long as you stick with it.

20. Determination- we are human. None of us can truthfully claim to be perfect. If you do not commit to your goal whole heartedly you will fail. There will be bumps in the road, you have to be determined to pick yourself back up and trudge on. No excuses, no procrastinations, no road blocks. You have to push through everything to see results. I have used the excuse before I’m too tired. Now the only thing I am tired of is being fat.

This all add up to a new mind,  soul, and what we all want, body. I have all the foundations for success. I have the drive to change. Wishing everyone luck and good health.

Heather

This entry was posted in My weight loss journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 2

  1. Subie says:

    YOU GO GIRL. Also I look for you to help me get motivated and moving too.
    I can’t wait to see your success
    Love you lots and I am excited for your journey and my part in in

    Aunt Sue

Leave a Reply

